Posted by: chlost | November 8, 2011

Quick, look- is there anything green stuck in my teeth?

He brought it on himself.

As I believe I have mentioned here, I have been married to Husband for 32 years now. We dated for about 3 years before we were married, so I guess we have been together 35 (!) years. He should know me by now.

Husband loves Starburst Jelly Beans. He doesn’t like the other brands. Just the  Starburst. He recently bought three bright yellow bags of them.This brand of jelly bean has only four colors/flavors-yellow/lemon, orange/orange, pink/strawberry, purple/grape, green/apple, red/cherry. Okay, I guess that’s six.

But here’s the thing. Only two of those are good. Well, in my opinion, that is. It is only the green and the pink that are tasty.  I can put up with the grape flavor, but after only a few of those, I don’t want any more.

Generally, I am not a big fan of jelly beans. But I like sweets. I like sweets way too much. I don’t buy candy. I try not to have it in the house, to avoid the temptation.  But there are now three bags of jelly beans in the house.  I had to have some of them. Really-there was no other option. I work from home. Those jelly beans have been calling my name every day. I have resisted for a couple of days long time. But today I was weak. I gave in. I went downstairs and I poured out a pile of those colored candies. I looked at them for a few seconds long time.

Then I poured the yellow, purple, red and orange ones back in the bag. I put the green and the pink ones into a little cup. They have been sitting next to me on the desk most of the day. I have nearly finished them. I have to admit, it has been nice to have only the flavors that I like. No picking through the yucky colors to get to the good ones.

When Husband goes to have his jelly beans, there will be no pink or green ones in the bag.

Maybe he won’t notice.

Responses

  1. I do that with any kind of assorted candies that have watermelon or licorice flavored candies…. I won’t eat those….

    • I’ll take the licorice. I agree about the watermelon-who ever thought of that flavor, anyway?

  2. Promise us you’re going to report the outcome of this little jelly bean experiment: does he or doesn’t he?

    • Not so far! 🙂

  3. I didn’t know Starburst made small candies … though Skittles are like tiny Starburst with a hard coating. 😉

    And yes, we need to know if he notices. 🙂

    • Yes, I have to agree with Husband that the Starburst jelly beans are the most flavorful-just that only two of the flavors are really pleasant. I’ll keep you posted.

  4. Good for you! He did bring it on himself! Hope you enjoyed every last pink and green jelly bean!

    It’s a good thing my husband likes milk chocolate and I like dark chocolate – I’ve been known to eat a bag of Hershey’s dark chocolate kisses in one day… (Like you, I try not to have them in the house…)

    • I did enjoy each one. The complementary preferences in candy can keep a marriage intact! Husband doesn’t really like chocolate and I love it. It makes it easier to keep it out of the house.

  5. I really only like the very sweet traditional jelly beans like you get at Easter. If there is candy in the house, I’m going to eat it, though.

    • It is a good thing that my addictions are legal. I have a low ability to stay away from candy-let alone anything else!


Leave a Reply

Categories

